Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
inandaroundlorraine.over-blog.com

Saint Côme et Saint Damien church in Vézelise

18 Janvier 2015 , Rédigé par Maryse Publié dans #Meurthe-et-Moselle

Saint Côme et Saint Damien church in Vézelise

Last summer, when we visited Vézelise, we entered Saint Côme et Saint Damien church, it was the first time for me. I was surprised to discover a beautiful church, I had not imagined this as it was built during the 15th century and is now surrounded by so many houses that it is a bit difficult to see the whole building at once.

First I saw the organs. Not all churches in Lorraine have got such a big musical instrument. We didn't get the opportunity to listen to it. It used to be in Beaupré abbey near Bayon and was moved to Vézelise in 1792. It was restored several times, the last one in 2007 when a concert was organized to celebrate the end of the work on this instrument.

Saint Côme et Saint Damien church in Vézelise

Then we walked near gravestones on the floor and standing against the walls. I think we see more recumbent effigies in our churches than gravestones looking like drawings, but I could be wrong. This picture shows Antoinette de Thiaucourt who died in 1597. I like her dress, not as simple as a lot of recumbent effigies but also looking like a child drawing.

I must also speak about the stained glasses. They are really beautiful. The ones who are interested can find pictures of them quite easily on Internet and explanations about them.

I quite enjoyed thinking again about our walk in Vézelise by writing this article. That day was relaxing and sunny. I feel I miss warmer days and would like this winter to finish, a lot of us would like it, wouldn't we ?

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
K
The organ was amazing. I can't even imagine what such an instrument would sound like. Have your heard one and are they terrible loud? Very interesting Village with such interesting sites. thanks!!
Répondre
M
I have heard several before, it is a beautiful sound, which can be quite loud depending on the music.