Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
inandaroundlorraine.over-blog.com

Quetsches time

22 Septembre 2014 , Rédigé par Maryse Publié dans #Life

Quetsches time

Once we have finished to deal with mirabelle plums in Lorraine, we go on with quetsch plums. I checked the translation and one dictionary proposed "damson". No, a damson is round and their colour is a sort of reddish one. The quetsches are dark purple or blue with a sort of rugby ball shape.

I like using them for pies and jam, or mixed with apples for a crumble. And some years, when we get a lot, we put them in a barrel to make alcohol.

I can't help comparing mirabelles and quetsches. I love the first ones and I like the second ones very much. But I must say there is one thing I always fear in questches, they are very often "inhabited" ! I can eat a mirabelle without opening it, straight from the tree. I never do this with a quetsch plum. My grandmother, who had survived two WW and the lack of food, used to say : "Don't worry ! It is meat without a food voucher !" Sorry, Grandma, but I can't, I absolutely have to check before eating it.

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
K
Such a beautiful sight isn't it. You best get busy!!
Répondre
K
our Ancestors were very brave about food!! LOL Is that your tree?
Répondre
M
It is one of the trees in the orchard we got from my father-in-law.
B
Thanks for the story of the plums. I loved the Miarabelles I don't remember having the others, but they may have been good for catching fish.
Répondre
M
I'll tell our daughter (she is the one who likes fishing in the family and has time to do it) and she'll try next year.
B
The fish would like the ones with the worms.
M
Catching fish ? I have never tried catching fish with plums. Quetsches and mirabelles are the two sorts which are very popular in Lorraine, we also have damsons and other "round" plums. And you can find greengages in some orchards too.