Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
inandaroundlorraine.over-blog.com

First crop of the year

7 Mai 2014 , Rédigé par Maryse Publié dans #Life

First crop of the year

Each year it is the same story, when I arrive in front of our rhubarb in the garden. What am I going to do with it ? This is the first plant we can eat and it is so big.

Last week I started with a crumble, apple and rhubarb. I used the usual dish to make it and there was nothing left ! I hoped to have a bit for the day after. Now I am ready to make jam, just rhubarb without any other fruit in it, and also a pie to celebrate the 8th of May.

The taste of this first rhubarb of the year is not as strong as later in the year. It is really pleasant to eat it. I think I am going to cook some too and put it in the freezer, so we'll add it to other desserts.

We'll have to wait a bit more for other fruit and vegetables in the garden. At the moment, on top of rhubarb, we only have thyme, mint and chive. We need a few more weeks to enjoy more crops.

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
K
No!! I have never heard of Sloe. Do you grow it or is it wild?
Répondre
M
It is wild.
K
Life's big blessings; Strange that so many of the first fruits are bitter or sour, maybe to wake our body from slumber. Good things!!
Répondre
M
Have you ever tasted sloe ? So bitter when you eat it before it is frozen (on the bush) and not unpleasant afterwards. And it happens just before winter.
M
The poison in rhubarb<br /> <br /> Oxalates are contained in all parts of rhubarb plants, especially in the green leaves. There is some evidence that anthraquinone glycosides are also present and may be partly responsible. It is not clear as to the exact source of poisoning from rhubarb, possibly a result of both compounds. The stalks contain low levels of oxalates, so this does not cause problems.
Répondre
M
You're right Mike. When I cut the stalks, I put the leaves in the garden on the grass I don't want to keep, it is killed very quickly (natural weedkiller). I've always known about the poison in rhubarb, a country upbringing I think.