Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
inandaroundlorraine.over-blog.com

Neufchâtel cheese in France

14 Janvier 2014 , Rédigé par Maryse Publié dans #Life

Neufchâtel cheese in France

A few weeks ago Cousin Kay told me she was using Neufchâtel cheese as cream cheese. I could not believe it ! I could not even imagine it.

So I looked for Neufchâtel cheese using different web sites and discovered the cheese is not the same in France and in the USA.

French Neufchâtel is quite similar to Camembert but tastes sharper. It is made in Normandy with cow milk. It was perhaps made from the sixth century, but for sure it already existed in 1050.

It can have different shapes but the most famous is heart shape. It is said girls in Normandy used to offer it to English soldiers during Hundred Years' War to show their feelings.

The one I bought last week was made with unpasteurized milk and was really good. The cheese merchant told me that usually Neufchâtel is sold in Lorraine during the festive season or for special days. As I had spoken about it she was kind enough to order some.

I can now confirm that French Neufchâtel cheese has got nothing in common with cream cheese.

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
K
Oh dear now I will have to figure out what yours tastes like. Due to it's shape and legend I suppose February will be the month for it to be popular and much easier for you to get. At least we are using the same name so we can pretend we are eating the same thing. LOL
Répondre
M
I didn't know the story of the girls of Normandy. This sort of things helps to remind about the cheese.