Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
inandaroundlorraine.over-blog.com

Small house in Saint-Nicolas-de-Port

13 Décembre 2014 , Rédigé par Maryse Publié dans #Lorraine, #Saint Nicolas

Small house in Saint-Nicolas-de-Port

On my way back from saint Nicolas' market to the parking place, I stopped in a small street I never walk through usually. It is called rue Mercière and I used to buy shoes in a shop there when I was a young girl.

This street is very small but has a right angle so you can't see the end of it from the beginning. It is narrow and certainly very old as it is just near the basilica.

When I arrived near the angle, I saw this strange house, two mail boxes, one door, one sort of door on the first floor and... nothing else. As the street, it is narrow but also low compared to other houses around. From bird's eye on internet, it is difficult to see what it looks like behind the front wall. Two small flats maybe. It was so unexpected.

I have been in this town hundreds of times and I had never seen this house before. I was even not looking for something, just changing my way to go back to my car. Saint-Nicolas-de-Port can be so surprising sometimes.

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
K
Don't you get awful curious when you see funny little places like that? The first thing that I noticed was the door and I began trying to think of why. Then I got to wondering if it was a home a shop or maybe an addition the the house next to it. Then the size and no window, now what was that person like? The house is indeed a mystery and possibly one of our ancestors lived there but the nicest thing I felt about it was the little adventure you had finding it and the desire you had to share and seeing how some one else might have had to live made me appreciate the window I have and being able to look out and enjoy seeing the trees and plants out there. Thanks for the trip.
Répondre
M
I wonder if it was a shop a long time ago. Saint-Nicolas-de-Port had a lot of small places like this standing against the walls of the basilica, a few square meters, one door, one window, but they were all destroyed about 30 years ago. And it is so near the big building that it could really be an old shop.