Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
inandaroundlorraine.over-blog.com

Carved wooden door in Lunéville

3 Décembre 2014 , Rédigé par Maryse Publié dans #Lunéville

Carved wooden door in Lunéville

I saw this door in rue Gambetta in Lunéville a few months ago, but I didn't carry my camera. Last week I had it with me.

I was a bit puzzled by the tools carved on the door. At first I only noticed the set square and compasses and thought it could be a Freemason place. Then I realized there were also a ruler, a chisel, a sickle (not sure of this one). All these made me look for a job using them. I think the clue is : a cabinetmaker, for sure a person working with wood.

There is also one tool in the middle. I didn't recognize it, but I was lucky as I found it on a page about old tools. In French it is called "drille de perçage", a tool to drill. This is also the first time I see the word "drille" and I was surprised it is very similar to the English word "drill".

I don't know why there are leaves on the tools and even less which sort of leaves. Ivy ?

There is no sign on the house to say who has lived there, so we can only guess the job of the owner.

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article